Skip to main content
Welcome to the School of Kinesiology, Counseling & Rehabilitative Sciences

Health and wellness are holistic concepts, involving both body and mind. The School of Kinesiology, Counseling, and Rehabilitative Sciences takes a comprehensive approach to enhancing the quality of life for individuals, families, and communities, offering an array of programs that train professionals in physical wellness, mental health care, and illness or injury prevention and recovery.

KCRS was designed with NKU's pillars of access, completion, and community in mind. In terms of accessibility, the school delivers its programs in a variety of formats, including online, accelerated, and face to face, with affordably competitive tuition rates. It is dedicated in its recruitment and retention of a diverse student body, faculty, and staff. KCRS' programs advise and mentor students to achieve degree completion, and provide a sequence of educational opportunities that extend from undergraduate coursework through graduate-level professional preparation. KCRS is dedicated to its regional community, collaborating with public and private agencies to enhance clinical and internship opportunities for our students and providing leadership in enhancing the well-being of Northern Kentucky.

Dr. Lipping

Our Programs

 

KCRS News + Events

KCRS welcomes Dr. Angela Boyd as the new Occupational Therapy Academic Fieldwork Coordinator!


KCRS welcomes Mindi Doolin, MSW, Opioid Impacted Family Service Program Coordinator!


 

Our People
Alar Lipping

Dr. Alar Lipping
Director

School of Kinesiology, Counseling & Rehabilitative Sciences
HC 206 | 859-572-6576 | lipping@nku.edu

Annette Shumard

Mrs. Annette Shumard
Academic Coordinator

School of Kinesiology, Counseling & Rehabilitative Sciences
HC 206K | 859-572-6553 | shumarda1@nku.edu

Program Directors
Terrance Anderson

Dr. Terrance Anderson
Occupational Therapy, OTD Program Director

FH 495L | 859-572-6933 | andersont13@nku.edu

Dorea Glance

Dr. Dorea Glance
School Counseling, MA Program Director

MEP 203D | 859-572-1490 | glanced1@nku.edu

Christopher Lawrence

Dr. Christopher Lawrence
Clinical Mental Health, MS Program Director

MEP 211 | 859-572-6652 | lawrencec7@nku.edu

Dr. Carol Ryan

Dr. Carol Ryan
Physical Education and Health, BA Program Director

HC 206G | 859-572-5152 | ryanc@nku.edu

Gabe Sanders

Dr. Gabe Sanders
Exercise Science, MS Program Director

HC 111 | 859-572-1331 | sandersg1@nku.edu

Cory Sheadler

Dr. Cory Scheadler
Exercise Science, BS Program Director

HC 206D-2 | 859-572-6082 | scheadlerc1@nku.edu

Hallie Sylvestro

Dr. Hallie Sylvestro
Human Services & Addictions, BS Program Director

MEP 203H | 859-572-6149 | sylvestroh1@nku.edu

Rachele Vogelpohl

Dr. Rachele Vogelpohl
Athletic Training, MS & BS Program Director

HE 599B | 859-572-5623 | vogelpohlra@nku.edu

Kinesiology Faculty
Keith Collins

Mr. Keith Collins
Exercise Science

HC 206B-1 | 859-572-5960 | collinsk15@knu.edu

Gary Eippert

Dr. Gary Eippert
Kinesiology

HC 206F | 859-572-6156 | eippert@nku.edu

Rebecca Elkins

Dr. Rebecca Elkins
Physical Education and Health

HC 206C-1 | 859-572-5196 | elkinsr3@nku.edu

Jennifer Lape Kaiser

Dr. Jennifer Lape Kaiser
Exercise Science

HC 206M | kaiserj2@nku.edu

Alma Mattocks

Dr. Rhyanne McDade
Diversity Post Doctoral Fellow

HE 206 | mcdader2@nku.edu

Counseling Faculty
Susannah Coaston

Dr. Susannah Coaston
Associate Professor

MEP 203C | 859-572-1551 | coastons1@nku.edu

Josh Elliott

Dr. Joshua Elliott
Assistant Professor

MP 262 | 859-572-7598 | elliottj14@nku.edu

Greg Hatchett

Dr. Greg Hatchett
Professor

MEP 203G | 859-572-6195 | hatchettg@nku.edu

Dana Ripley

Dr. Dana Ripley
Assistant Professor

MEP 256 | 859-572-1994 | ripleyd1@nku.edu

Jennifer Sharp

Dr. Jennifer Sharp
Associate Professor

MEP 203B | 859-572-6125 | sharpj8@nku.edu

Ashley Nicole de la Torre-Brooks

Dr. Ashley Nicole De La Torre-Brooks
Field Experience Coordinator, Human Services and Addictions

brooksa12@nku.edu

Rehabilitative Sciences Faculty
Angela Boyd

Dr. Angela Boyd
Occupational Therapy Academic Fieldwork Coordinator

FH 595L  | 859-572-5302 | boyda9@nku.edu

Collin Herb

Dr. Collin Herb
Athletic Training

HE 595K | 859-572-1399 | herbc1@nku.edu

Alma Mattocks

Mrs. Alma Mattocks
Athletic Training and Clinical Education

HE 595J | 859-572-1547 | mattocksa1@nku.edu