Kinesiology, or the study of physical movement, has seen a surge in popularity over the last 20 years that experts attribute to its social relevance, its relation to the obesity epidemic, and the growing societal importance of sports and athletics.

The kinesiology curriculum has evolved over the years to offer courses that extend beyond physical education and health to exercise science, exercise prescription, athletic training, motor development and learning, and biomechanics.

Many students pursue traditional careers like teaching or fitness instruction, but more than half pursue other quickly-growing allied health or medical professions like athletic training, exercise science, cardiac rehabilitation, physical therapy, or occupational therapy.  As the movement to improve health across the lifespan continues, a need for older adult  fitness instructors and movement specialists is also on the horizon.

Advancing Your Career

Accreditation

   

Our NKU Athletic Training program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education.

Website

Our People

Alar Lipping

Dr. Alar Lipping
Interim Director
School of Kinesiology, Counseling & Rehabilitative Sciences

HC 206 | 859-572-6576 | lipping@nku.edu

Annette Shumard

Mrs. Annette Shumard
Academic Coordinator
School of Kinesiology, Counseling & Rehabilitative Sciences

HC 206 | 859-572-6557 | shumarda1@nku.edu

Program Directors

Terrance Anderson

Dr. Terrance Anderson
Occupational Therapy, OTD Program Director

FH 495L | 859-572-6933 | andersont13@nku.edu

Mei Mei Burr

Dr. Mei Mei Burr
Human Services & Addiction, BS Program Director

MEP 203E | 859-572-6070 | burri@nku.edu

Rebecca Elkins

Dr. Rebecca Elkins
Physical Education, BA Program Director

HC 206C-1 | 859-572-5196 | elkinsr3@nku.edu

Dorea Glance

Dr. Dorea Glance
School Counseling, MA Program Director

MEP 203D | 859-572-1490 | glanced1@nku.edu

Christopher Lawrence

Dr. Christopher Lawrence
Clinical Mental Health, MS Program Director

MEP 211 | 859-572-6652 | lawrencec7@nku.edu

Wiley Piazza

Mr. Wiley Piazza
Exercise Science, BS Program Director

HC 111 | 859-572-5620 | piazzaw@nku.edu

Gabe Sanders

Dr. Gabe Sanders
Exercise Science, MS Program Director

HC 206F | 859-572-1331 | sandersg1@nku.edu

Rachele Vogelpohl

Dr. Rachele Vogelpohl
Athletic Training, MS & BS Program Director

HC 206M | 859-572-5623 | vogelpohlra@nku.edu

 

Faculty

Keith Collins

Mr. Keith Collins
Exercise Science

HC 206B-1 | 859-572-5960 | collinsk15@knu.edu

 

Gary Eippert

Dr. Gary Eippert
Kinesiology

HC 206J | 859-572-6156 | eippert@nku.edu

Mary Kirk

Dr. Mary Kirk
Physical Education Pedagogy

HC 206D-1 | 859-572-5194 | kirkmf@nku.edu

Alma Mattocks

Mrs. Alma Mattocks
Athletic Training and Clinical Education

HC 206L | 859-572-1547 | mattocksa1@nku.edu

Dr. Carol Ryan

Dr. Carol Ryan
Physical Education Pedagogy

HC 206G | 859-572-5152 | ryanc@nku.edu

Cory Sheadler

Dr. Cory Scheadler
Exercise Science

HC 206D-2 | 859-572-6082 | scheadlerc1@nku.edu

Collin Herb

Dr. Collin Herb
Athletic Training

HC 206B-2 | 859-572-1399 | herbc1@nku.edu

Susannah Coaston

Dr. Susannah Coaston
Counseling & Human Servcies

MEP 203C | 859-572-1551 | coastons1@nku.edu

 

Greg Hatchett

Dr. Greg Hatchett
Counseling & Human Services

MEP 203G | 859-572-6195 | hatchettg@nku.edu

Jennifer Sharp

Dr. Jennifer Sharp
Counseling & Human Services

MEP 203F | 859-572-6125 | sharpj8@nku.edu

Hallie Sylvestro

Dr. Hallie Sylvestro
Counseling & Human Services

MEP 203H | 859-572-6149 | sylvestroh1@nku.edu