Skip to main content

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

Media is everywhere, just like the Electronic Media & Broadcasting program. EMB students develop their technical, artistic, and logistical skills to tell stories with a camera, a microphone, and a script. Then you’ll apply your skills while making media with your professors around the world in our required study abroad program.

 

cq-text-component-placeholder

Career Paths

An EMB degree prepares students for the collaborative nature of media production, leading to careers in the commercial & creative worlds.
Graduates have moved into all forms of media professions, including:

  • Producer
  • Live Multicam Director
  • Videographer/Director of Photography
  • Screenwriter
  • Video Editor
  • Documentarian
  • Location Audio Specialist
  • Film Director
  • Production Specialist

INTERN AND CO-OP OPPORTUNITIES


Whatever your career focus, you can gain valuable on-the-job experience in an internship or co-op arranged through NKU Career Services.


NKU students gain professional experience with area businesses involved in television & radio, live sports production, video production houses, music recording studios, business-to-business communication, & more.



 


cq-text-component-placeholder
Electronic Media & Broadcasting Faculty
cq-text-component-placeholder

Program Director

cq-text-component-placeholder
photo of Sara Drabik

Sara Drabik, M.A.

Associate Professor

GH 559
859-572-6575
drabiks1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder

Full-Time Faculty

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
Photo of Wes Akers

Wes Akers, M.A.

Senior Lecturer

GH 542
859-572-6316
akersw@nku.edu

photo og John Gibson

John Gibson, M.A.

Senior Lecturer

GH 571
859-572-5692
gibsonj5@nku.edu

photo of Yasue Kuwahara

Yasue Kuwahara, Ph.D.

Professor

GH 561
859-572-5291
kuwahara@nku.edu

photo of tracy songer

Tracy Songer, M.A.

Assistant Professor

GH 438
859-572-6489
songert1@nku.edu

photo of Chris Strobel

Chris Strobel

Professor

GH 465
859-572-1426
chris.strobel@nku.edu

photo of Dave Thomson

David Thomson, M.A.

Associate Professor

GH 544
859-572-5646
thomsond@nku.edu

photo of Aaron Zlatkin

Aaron Zlatkin, M.A.

Lecturer

GH 533
859-572-1337
zlatkin@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder

Part-Time Faculty

photo of Eric Chatterjee

Eric Chatterjee

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
chatterjee1@nku.edu

no image

Durell "Butch" Hamm

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
hammd@nku.edu

photo of Brad Libis

Bradley Libis

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
libisb1@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
cq-text-component-placeholder
no image

Darren Mccullah

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
mccullahd@nku.edu

no image

Sharmaine McLaren

Part-Time Faculty
(859)572-5436
mclarens1@nku.edu

photo of jason mossman

Jason Mossman

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
mossmanj1@nku.edu

photo of Jeff Nielsen

Jeffrey Nielsen

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
nielsenj3@nku.edu

no image

Sarah Schroeder

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
schroedersar@nku.edu

photo of Paul Weber

Paul Weber

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
weberp1@nku.edu

photo of Lori Wheeler

Lori Wheeler, M.A.

Part-Time Faculty
(859) 572-5436
wheelerl1@nku.edu