Skip to main content
cq-text-component-placeholder

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

The continuing growth of computer-generated imagery in fields such as entertainment, game design, health, and other commercial industries offers individual opportunities to work in a creative and technical field. The coursework in this program covers key concepts in 3D modeling, texturing, lighting, and rigging, visual effects (VFX), game art, and animation. The program’s core emphasis is on the application of design thinking towards the development of motion & mechanics, rendering, user-experience, and compositing. Our majors receive intensive hands-on experience to boost their skill development in preparation for being responsive to industry needs, trends, and standards. Students will acquire a well-rounded education addressing important design principles, theories, and philosophies.  

Part of collaboration with Visual Art on Animation BFA.

 

 

 

 

Career Paths

Completion of a 3D Digital Design & VFX degree provides a solid user-experience foundation while allowing for digital media to be created for various output methods. Our students explore 3D modeling & animation, push the boundaries of immersive virtual production, and deliver cutting-edge content.

NKU prepares students for careers in areas such as:

  • 3D Modeling & Visualization
  • Visual Effects & Motion Graphics
  • Digital Design
  • User-experience & Interface Design
  • 3D Animation
  • Game Art

 

 

3D Digital Design & Visual Effects Faculty

Program Director


photo of Sunil Ketty

Sunil Ketty, M.F.A, M.Ed

Assistant Professor,
3D Digital Design & VFX

GH 412
859-572-7791
kettys1@nku.edu

 

Full-Time Faculty


photo of Nick Brummer

Nick Brummer, M.F.A.

GH 512
859-572-5974
brummern@nku.edu

Photo of Ash Neiman

Ash Nieman, M.F.A.

GH 428
859-572-6341
niemana3@nku.edu

 

Part-Time Faculty


photo of Nick Brummer

Robert Bodle

(859) 572-5436
bodler1@nku.edu

picture of Eric Chatterjee

Eric Chatterjee

(859) 572-5436
chatterjee1@nku.edu

photo of Phillip duBarry

Phillip duBarry

(859) 572-5436
dubarryp1@nku.edu

no image photo

Shanon Rice

(859)572-5436
rices9@nku.edu