Skip to main content

The Tri-State Rising Artists Violin Competition will be held in Spring 2024. The competition is open to violinists, violists, and cellists aged 14-18 who live in Kentucky, Ohio and Indiana.

Who can compete:

  • Violinists, Violists, and Cellists aged 14-18 living in the Tristate (Indiana, Ohio, or Kentucky), who haven't previously won first or second prize in the competition.

Prize Details:

  • First place $500 and a braided carbon fiber bow
  • Second place $200
  • Audience choice award $150 (the performance that receives the most “likes”)
  • First and Second runners-up a prize package from Baroque Violin Shop including a set of strings, rosin and more.

Important Dates:

  • Early bird entry deadline: March 18
  • Regular entry deadline: April 1
  • Winners announced: April 15
  • Comments sent: April 22



Competitor Instructions

  • Record your competition video (see below for details)
  • Upload video to YouTube with "unlisted" visibility
  • Complete the application form
  • Submit payment online, or send a check to:
    • NKU School of the Arts
      c/o Tri-State Rising Artists
      Nunn Drive, Fine Arts Center 312
      Highland Heights, KY 41099
  • Entry fee: Early bird = $25, regular = $30

Recording Details

  • 7-12 minutes total length.
  • During registration, please provide YouTube link of your video.
  • Music selected should show a range of artistic styles, and could be several pieces or a single work with contrasting sections.
  • Performances can be with or without piano accompaniment.
  • Recordings should be in one continuous take, no editing or splicing of any kind.
    • It is OK if you walk on and off camera at the beginning and end.
    • Make sure we can see your whole body.
    • Make sure the quality of the sound represents your playing well - you can use a high-quality cell-phone recording, but a separate mic and/or recording software are recommended.
    • Instructions on how to conduct yourself in the video.


  • Northern Kentucky University’s Corbett Trio
    • William Herzog, violin
    • Holly Attar, viola
    • Amy Gillingham, cello
  • Guest Judge: Hiro Matsuo

Judging and Award Procedure

  • Competitor videos will be available to view starting Monday, April 8, 2024.
  • The voting for the audience choice award will be available until Thursday, April 11, 2024.
  • The judges will announce the prize winners Monday, April 15, 2024.

Previous Winners

2023 Winners

  • 1st: Catelijne Hung
  • 2nd: Miranda Isbitts
  • Audience Choice: Monica Geiman
  • Runners up: Angelina Chen and Monica Geiman

2022 Winners

  • 1st prize: Elson Koh
  • 2nd prize: Miranda Isbitts
  • Runners up: Michell Lynch, Gracie Niehaus

2021 Winners

  • 1st Prize: Cooper Olsen
  • 2nd prize: Abigail Ko
  • Audience Choice: Gracie Niehaus
Sponsored by NKU and Baroque Violin Shop