Skip to main content
MCTC 2 NKU Pathway Program Announced
NKU Interim President Gerry St. Amand and MCTC President Dr. Stephen M. Vacik sign the pathways agreement.

September 28, 2017- Northern Kentucky University and Maysville Community and Technical College (MCTC) have announced a new pathways agreement that promotes and simplifies transfer from MCTC to NKU.

NKU Interim President Gerry St. Amand and MCTC President Dr. Stephen M. Vacik signed the pathways agreement at a partnership event on September 28 at the MCTC campus. The agreement expands the “2NKU” program, which is designed for students to transfer to NKU after earning an associate degree.

“The MCTC 2 NKU program works so well because the focus is on the student,” said Kimberly Scranage, NKU vice president for enrollment and degree management. “They receive the information and services needed to make the transfer experience both seamless and successful.”

MCTC 2 NKU offers dual enrollment at MCTC and NKU. While earning their associate degree at MCTC, students will receive MCTC’s tuition rate for NKU classes. Students also have access to a NKU advisor to help with transferring and financial aid.

“MCTC is excited to formalize our already robust partnership with Northern Kentucky University. NKU has worked closely with our staff to create an efficient and cost-effective pathway for our students to transfer and complete their degree,” said Dr. Stephen M. Vacik, MCTC president. “This articulation agreement reinforces the commitment by MCTC and NKU to the success of our students and to the advancement of the educational attainment of our entire region.”

Maysville will be the fourth program as part of the “2 NKU” Pathways program. Gateway Community College was the first dual enrollment partner. The program expanded to included Cincinnati State and Jefferson Community and Technical College. MCTC students can begin the MCTC 2 NKU program starting this semester. For more information, visit

About MCTC:

Maysville Community and Technical College is a two-year college that has been serving the region since 1968. As part of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System, MCTC provides education and training close to where people live and work. To learn more about the programs of study at MCTC, visit

About NKU:

Northern Kentucky University is a major metropolitan university enrolling more than 14,000 associate, undergraduate, graduate, professional, and doctoral students in six colleges – the College of Arts and Sciences, the Haile/US Bank College of Business, the College of Education and Human Services, the College of Health Professions, the College of Informatics and the Chase College of Law. To learn more, visit