Skip to main content
Dr. Ryan Salzman with 4C's Board Members

Northern Kentucky University’s Dr. Ryan Salzman was elected to the 4C for Children's Board of Trustees. Dr. Salzman is one of three new board members tasked with furthering 4C’s mission to support the adults who care for young children and to advocate for public support for quality early education and care for all children. 

“It’s an honor to join 4C’s board of trustees because they are working to support our children and their access to early education,” said Dr. Salzman. “I’m looking forward to using my experience as an educator, policy maker and early childhood advocate to help advance 4C's mission.”

Dr. Salzman is an assistant professor in the Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice at NKU. He has been a member of the 4C Northern Kentucky Advisory board since 2015 and is currently the advisory board chair. He recently represented 4C at the Child Care Aware Public Policy Symposium in Washington, D.C. Dr. Salzman joins Alison Morris, senior director of finance at the E.W. Scripps Company, and Jill Warman, vice president and team leader at U.S. Bank, as new members of the 4C’s for Children’s Board of Trustees.

"We are pleased to welcome these trustees who share a passion for helping children in our region get the best possible start in life," said Vanessa Freytag, president/CEO of 4C. "Each of these new board members has a wealth of knowledge to complement our work and I look forward to working with them to help the children in our community succeed."

Dr. Salzman recently received the regional Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award from the Office of Kentucky Secretary of State, Administrative Office of the Courts, and the Kentucky Department of Education. The award recognizes a P-16 teacher, school administrator, educational leader, legislator, or community leader who has “made notable contributions toward promoting or implementing civic learning to prepare students to be engaged and responsible citizens.” Dr. Salzman also serves as a City Council member of Bellevue, KY.