Skip to main content

NKU business students win national leadership awards

Office of Marketing + Communications

HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, Ky. – Northern Kentucky University students are among the top future business leaders in the nation.

Four NKU students earned top-five finishes at the Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) National Leadership Conference in Chicago, Ill. June 24-27. They were among 1,600 students from across the nation to participate in the conference.

Freshman Katreen Far and sophomore Keith Privé won second place for Business Decision Making. Senior Alison Hiler won fourth place in the Job Interview category. Senior Zachary Powers won fifth place for International Business, and fifth place for Organizational Behavior and Leadership.

The Haile/US Bank College of Business PBL chapter has won a total of 16 national awards in the past three years. Eight students performed well enough at the state level to compete in the national conference.

“I am extremely proud of our students,” said Frank Robinson, the chapter’s advisor and assistant director of the College of Business Advising Center. “They did a fantastic job at the national level even though competition seemed to be stronger than ever, and I feel fortunate to work with such a great group of students. We are excited about the chapter’s continued success, and the students are already looking forward to next year’s competition.”

The chapter is housed in NKU’s College of Business and open to students from each of the University’s six colleges who want to build their professional skills.

The PBL National Leadership Conference provides college students with the opportunity to develop leadership and professional skills by taking examinations, giving presentations, and competing in academic events in business-related disciplines. More than 1,600 students from across the nation participated in the conference.


Depicted from left to right are the NKU PBL students who competed at the National Leadership Conference: Mary Andrikus, Keith Privé, Julie McKendry, Curt Comarata, Katreen Far, chapter advisor Frank Robinson, Alison Hiler, Anthony Cox, and Zachary Powers.