Skip to main content

For immediate release…
Thursday – Feb. 5, 2015

HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, Ky. – Northern Kentucky University, the University of Cincinnati, Xavier University, and Mount St. Joseph University will partner with The Cincinnatus Association to present the 2015 Education Awards on Tuesday, Feb. 10, at 6 p.m., in the NKU Votruba Student Union Ballroom. The event is by invite only.

The awards honor local teachers and education administrators who exemplify the best in classroom instruction and professional involvement with their schools and community. A total of seven award recipients will be honored.

“Our university is proud to join our colleagues in honoring these men and women who are changing lives far beyond their own classrooms,” said NKU President Geoffrey Mearns. “They are leading with excellence and making a lasting impact on their students and our region. We thank them and all of the great teachers who are preparing our next generation of leaders and innovators.”

C³ (“Conversations, Connections, Collaborations”) Outstanding Educator awards will be presented to four local teachers. The awards recognize teachers with exceptional knowledge of their subject matter and innovating teaching methods, who relate to students in a way that helps them succeed in and out of the classroom, and who actively participate in the school and broader community.

  • Jerry Schrock has been a Mason (Ohio) City Schools teacher since 1989. He teaches American history as well as law and criminal justice at Mason High School. One nominator wrote, “Mr. Schrock challenges students to be model citizens, not just students in his classroom. His ability to have students connect to American history and their role in how the future history will be written is a strength that makes learning social studies meaningful and creates a lasting impact.”

    Outside the classroom, Mr. Schrock has facilitated programs that encourage open dialogue between students and teachers; created a walking history tour at Mason High; and is now working to establish a Vietnam Memorial for fallen Mason students.

  • Bill Morgan has taught social studies at Newport Central Catholic High School since 1976 and has announced he will retire at the end of the school year. One nominator wrote, “NCC alumni from many generations sing the praises of Mr. Morgan and to this day consistently mention him as a most influential teacher.” Another emphasized his extracurricular involvement, noting that Mr. Morgan has inspired thousands through his work with mock trial, state history day, National Honor Society, and coaching football, basketball, and tennis.

    “For the past 39 years, Mr. Morgan has not only lived and taught the subject of history, but more importantly, the subject of humanity,” another nominator wrote. “He has never once asked for anything in return for this service, caring, and selflessness. His teaching will not stop after he retires…as he has inspired thousands in the classroom, on the field, and in the halls to succeed in the right way.”

  • Jackie Butts has taught in classrooms at St. Piux X Elementary, Villa Madonna Academy, and James I. Tichenor Middle School since earning her B.A. in Education from NKU in 1986. “Her classroom teaching and management skills rank on the highest level,” one nominator wrote. “Her ability to develop the much-needed relationships with her students is amazing. This teacher never gives up on a student. If it takes early morning/after school tutoring or working with the parents in their home…Jackie is there.”

    Ms. Butts has served as coordinator of the Gifted/Talented program at Tichenor as well as the drama club moderator, after-school tutor, and summer school instructor. She chaired the Language Arts Department for three years and served on the school’s Parents and Teachers Talking Together (PT3) committee, which focused on addressing barriers to student success.

  • Danielle Foulk has served as a kindergarten teacher at Rockwern Academy since 2008. “Danielle Foulk is the kindergarten teacher of whom every child dreams and for whom every parent hopes. Walking into her classroom, one can’t help but feel welcomed,” a nominator wrote. “The classroom environment is warm and loving, and this is manifested not only in the physical environment, but amongst the students as well.”

    Ms. Foulk is a certified mentor teacher by the Ohio Department of Education. “Her ability to connect with students is unparalleled,” her nominator continued. “Ms. Foulk is constantly tweaking lessons and plans based on the needs of her students. She understands that the notion that ‘one size fits all’ does not apply to her kindergarteners.”

Three additional awards will be presented on Feb. 10.

  • The Cincinnatus/Woodward Trust Distinguished Teacher Award for Cincinnati Public Schools will be presented to Alan Cruser, a teacher at Woodward Career Technical High School. One nominator wrote about Mr. Cruser’s “innate passion for improving the quality and delivery of career-work readiness programs” at Woodward Career Technical High School. “Mr. Cruser is reassuring and encouraging to all teachers in our building by offering realistic approaches to educational and meaningful classroom instruction,” the nominator added.

  • The James N. Jacobs Award for Outstanding Administration in Cincinnati Public Schools will be presented to Tianay Amat, principal, Hyde Park School. “In her two and a half years as principal of Hyde Park School and Cincinnati Gifted Academy, Ms. Amat has worked tirelessly to build unity among all stakeholders,” a nominator wrote, “to create a vibrant, high-achieving school where both students are staff are happy to spend their days, and to achieve academic success.”

  • The John E. Pepper Award for Outstanding Volunteer in Public Education will be presented to Linda Bingham, Sayler Park School. A nominator wrote that Ms. Bingham has volunteered with Sayler Park for 35 years, donating her time as well as financial contributions to fund facility enhancements and shirts for students. She also runs the school’s Rosey Reader program for primary students. “Linda is the epitome of an outstanding volunteer,” her nominator concluded.


### NKU ###

Follow NKU news on Twitter at