For immediate release…
Monday – May 12, 2014

The Cincinnati Bar Association recognized a number of Northern Kentucky University Chase College of Law alumni and friends on Friday at its 2014 Annual Meeting at the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza.

The event began with an introduction of the CBA’s new officers and trustees. John P. Tafaro, a 1982 Chase Law graduate, was named CBA president. Tafaro was born and raised in New Jersey before moving to Ohio in 1972 to attend Wittenberg University. After receiving his bachelor’s degree and an M.Ed. in sports administration from Ohio University, Tafaro attended Chase Law in the evenings while working at Riverfront Coliseum. He has been a member of the CBA since 1982, and has served on the Fee Arbitration Committee, Nominating Committee, Committee on Committees, and has chaired the Sports & Entertainment Law Committee. He has served as trustee of the Cincinnati Bar Foundation, and as a member of the CBF’s John L. Muething Lifetime Achievement Award Committee.

Tafaro has more than three decades of experience in business, law, and community service throughout the region, as well as a varied background in higher education. He has been a partner with the Cincinnati law firm Kohnen & Patton, LLP; has engaged in extensive consulting work with numerous businesses, large and small; and has served as president and CEO of several local companies in industries ranging from sports and entertainment to retail to light manufacturing to technology. He has served as adjunct faculty at several local institutions and currently serves as president of Chatfield College. He has also served as a board member and officer of numerous local nonprofits, including 4C for Children, ProKids, and the Cincinnati Children’s Museum.

“The NKU Chase College of Law is proud to have one of its alumni leading the Cincinnati Bar Association,” said Chase Law Dean Jeffrey Standen. “John Tafaro has demonstrated exemplary leadership throughout his career and will represent the association well over the next year.”

The CBA presented several awards at Friday’s luncheon, including a Themis Award to Chase Law alumna Bea V. Larsen (Chase Law ’69). The Themis Award is the highest honor bestowed by the CBA for extraordinary service to law and the community. Larsen is only the sixth recipient of the award. Previous recipients include Martha H. Perin (1990); Hon. Gilbert Bettman (1992); Harry Santen (1997); Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III (2003); and Michael Neumark (2005).

Larsen was CBA president in 1986-87 and has served on the Ohio Supreme Court Committee on Dispute Resolution. She is co-founder of the Collaborative Law Center, served on the Jewish Hospital Board of Trustees, and was the key initiator in the founding of the BLAC-CBA Roundtable. She is also a regular contributor to the monthly CBA Report.

The John P. Kiely Professionalism Award was presented to Harold “Hal” G. Korbee (Chase Law ’65). The award annually recognizes a trial lawyer for possessing outstanding trial skills and demonstrating the highest degree of professionalism, civility, and ethical standards in his or her day-to-day practice. In a nomination by two of his partners, Korbee is described as “the epitome of a professional attorney…a civil, level-headed, experienced professional in every aspect of the practice.”

Korbee has practiced with Wood & Lamping since 1981. His litigation experience includes personal injury, corporate, labor, real estate, municipal law, and malpractice. He has served on the executive committee of Wood & Lamping and, later, as managing partner. Now of counsel to the firm, he assists his partners and mentors some of the younger members of the firm.

“The Chase College of Law has been preparing graduates for success in the courtroom and beyond for more than 120 years,” said NKU President Geoffrey Mearns. “Chase Law alumni from across our region and the nation have been recognized for their professionalism and service, and we congratulate Bea Larsen and Hal Korbee on their CBA recognition.”  

Other awards presented at the luncheon include the John W. Warrington Community Service Award and the Volunteer Lawyer of the Year Award. The Community Service Award was received by Kenneth L. Parker, who as a former president of the Black Lawyers Association of Cincinnati (BLAC) was instrumental in the establishment of the Honorable Jack Sherman, Jr. Scholarship. The scholarship is provided annually to a minority law student attending Chase Law who has a desire to practice public interest law.

The Volunteer Lawyer of the Year Award was presented to Scott E. Knox, who was instrumental in the launch of the Volunteer Lawyers Project’s Wills and Advance Planning Clinics. The partnership between the Volunteer Lawyers Project, Chase Law, and private practice attorneys offers low-income clients the opportunity to create a will, health care and financial powers of attorney, and similar essential life-planning documents with the help of Chase Law students.

### NKU ###

Follow NKU news on Twitter at