NKU professor to be honored with junior faculty teaching award

News from NKU

For immediate release…
Monday – March 18, 2013

HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, Ky. – The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences has partnered with one of the world’s leading academic publishers to recognize Northern Kentucky University assistant professor Dr. Cheryl Lero Johnson with a 2013 ACJS SAGE Junior Faculty Teaching Award.

“I am very honored to be selected as one of the recipients of the 2013 SAGE Junior Faculty Teaching Award,” said Dr. Johnson. “I am excited for the opportunity to learn from some of the best in our field on how to better my pedagogy and bring those skills back to NKU.”

Given annually, the 10 award winners are promising new faculty members in the criminal justice and criminology disciplines; each winner will receive a grant to help underwrite their travel to the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences 2013 annual meeting in Dallas.

“SAGE is delighted to support an award that promotes the professional development of young faculty in the criminal justice sciences for five consecutive years,” said Jerry Westby, SAGE publisher. “This award affords rising criminal justice faculty the opportunity to share teaching and learning insights with colleagues from around the country and to create a network of support at the beginning of their career. We are very happy to take advantage of this opportunity to give back to the criminal justice discipline.”

Dr. Johnson is an assistant professor in the NKU Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice. She has taught courses in introductory criminal justice, correctional rehabilitation, crime prevention and the criminal offender.

Her current research interests include the impact of prison on recidivism, sources of inmate violence, the use of meta-analysis to organize criminological knowledge, early intervention and crime prevention, cheating among undergraduate students and work-family conflict among law enforcement officials.

Dr. Johnson is co-editor of The Origins of American Criminology: Advances in Criminological Theory and the co-author of Correctional Theory: Context and Consequences. Her published work has appeared in Criminology and Public Policy, Crime and Justice: A Review of Research and Victims and Offenders.

She earned her bachelor’s degrees in psychology and sociology and her master’s degree in sociology/criminology from Bowling Green State University. In 2010, she received her Ph.D. in criminal justice from the University of Cincinnati.

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.

SAGE is a leading international publisher of journals, books and electronic media for academic, educational and professional markets. Since 1965, SAGE has helped inform and educate a global community of scholars, practitioners, researchers and students spanning a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine. An independent company, SAGE has principal offices in Los Angeles, London, New Delhi, Singapore and Washington DC.

Award recipients were selected from applicants who had received a graduate degree within the last five years and had taught criminal justice or criminology full time for less than five years. Other award recipients include Valerie Bell (Loras College), Constance Kostelac (Simpson College), Emanuel Boussios (SUNY Nassau Community College), Michele Bratina (Keiser University), Colby Valentine (Dominican College), Cassandra Reyes (West Chester University of Pennsylvania), Mary Evans (University of Southern Mississippi), Christina Mancini (Florida Atlantic University) and Christopher O’Connor (University of Wisconsin – Superior).

The ACJS 50th Annual Meeting will be held March 19-23 in Dallas. With 2,000 attendees, the conference is the second largest gathering of criminology and criminal justice educators, researchers, practitioners and students shaping the criminal justice world in the United States and Canada. Dr. Johnson and other recipients of the Junior Faculty Teaching Award will be recognized at a reception held in their honor.

### NKU ###

Follow NKU news on Twitter at https://twitter.com/nkuedu.