# SCHOOL-BASED SCHOLARS (SBS) ADVISORY COMMITTEE

#### **Purpose:**

Provides advice, consent, and insights--essential to the continued growth of the School-Based Scholars (SBS) program--on critical issues facing dual-credit and preparing students for success in college

### Charge:

• Provide direction and insight into issues facing dual-credit and the SBS program and preparing students for success in college.

#### Membership Guidelines:

- Community leaders (Gateway CTC)
- School districts (Kenton County Schools, Campbell County Schools, Fort Thomas Independent School District, Beechwood Independent Schools, Walton Verona Schools, Boone County Schools, Calvary Christian Academy, Erlanger-Elsmere Independent School District)
- SBS staff and faculty
- NKU administrators (English, Math, Advising, Political Science, Arts & Sciences, Informatics, Academic Affairs, Admissions)

#### Membership Appointment:

All members are appointed by the administrators of the SBS Program.

Membership Terms: No term limits

Frequency of Meetings: Twice per academic year

Expected Lifespan: Ongoing

**Reporting Requirements: N/A** 

#### **Operating Procedures:**

The SBS Advisory Committee makes recommendations during meetings through group discussion and written submission of ideas to the SBS office.

**Relationship to Other Committees: N/A** 

Typical Date of Membership Turnover: September

Responsible Office: School-Based Scholars

Administrative Contact Name & Position:

James Catchen, Assistant Director, School-Based Scholars Program (<u>catchenj1@nku.edu</u>) X5498

Kristin Hornsby, Coordinator, School-Based Scholars Program

### Website:

https://inside.nku.edu/schoolbasedscholars.html

## Membership Roster (2019-20)

NAME	TITLE	DEPARTMENT	COMMITTEE AFFILIATION	COMMITTEE ROLE	EMAIL	
Leadership						
Diane Williams	Director, Learning PLUS	Learning PLUS	NKU	Co-Chair	williamsd@nku.edu	
James Catchen	Assistant Director, SBS	SBS	NKU	Co-Chair	Catchenj1@nku.edu	
Kristin Hornsby	Coordinator, SBS	SBS & Pathways	NKU	Co-Chair	Hornsbyk1@nku.ed u	
Other Members						
Adam Ritter	Principal			Member	adam.ritter@campbell .kyschools.us	
Amy Pieper	Associate Director, Norse Advising			Member	piepera3@nku.edu	
Bill Bradford	Assistant Superintendent			Member	bill.bradford@forttho mas.kyschools.us	
Bill Hogan	Director of Innovative Programs			Member	<u>bill.hogan@boone.kys</u> <u>chools.us</u>	
Justin Kaiser	Principal			Member	Justin.kaiser@beechw ood.kyschools.us	
Brian Noll	Assistant Principal, Ignite			Member	brian.noll@kenton.kys chools.us	
Caryn Connelly	Chair, World Languages			Member	connellyc1@nku.edu	
Dawn Hinton	Guidance Counselor			Member	dawn.hinton@boone. kyschools.us	
Emily Detmer- Goebel	Assistant Dean - Arts and Sciences			Member	<u>detmergoebel@nku.e</u> du	
James Detwiler	CAO/Deputy Superintendent			Member	james.detwiler@boon e.kyschools.us	
Jen Glass	Guidance Counselor			Member	Jennifer.Glass@erlang er.kyschools.us	

Jim Clark	NKU SBS Faculty	Member	
	Member		<u>clarkj@nku.edu</u>
Joanne		Member	
Estenfelder			joanne.nesmith@wv.k
Nesmith	Principal		yschools.us
John Alberti	Chair, English	Member	alberti@nku.edu
Kelsey Haskins	Interim Director	Member	
-	of Transfer		
	Services		bevinsk1@nku.edu
Kevin Kirby	Dean, College of	Member	
	Informatics		kirby@nku.edu
	Deputy	Member	martha.setters@kent
Martha Setters	Superintendent		on.kyschools.us
	Director,	Member	
Melissa	Undergraduate		
Gorbandt	Admissions		gorbandt@nku.edu
		Member	misty.middleton@willi
Misty Middleton	Superintendent		amstown.kyschools.us
	Guidance	Member	roy.lucas@kenton.kys
Roy Lucas	Counselor		<u>chools.us</u>
	Interim Co-Chair	Member	
	Department of		
	Teacher		
Sara Runge	Education		rungesa@nku.edu
	Director, GCTC	Member	shelby.krentz@kctcs.e
Shelby Krentz	Dual-Credit		<u>du</u>
		Member	slayton@childreninc.o
Stephanie Layton	NKY Director		rg