May 2, 2002


Norse can win regular-season title this weekend at home

HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, Ky. - The Northern Kentucky University baseball team can wrap up the Great Lakes Valley Conference regular-season title this weekend at home against Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, beginning with a noon doubleheader on Saturday.

NKU (29-21 overall, 19-7 in the GLVC) leads the University of Indianapolis (30-17 overall, 17-8 in the GLVC) by 1 1/2 games in the standings, and the Norse can clinch the GLVC regular-season title this weekend at home by winning twice during a three-game series against SIUE. Indianapolis, meanwhile, will close out the regular-season with a three-game series at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside.

NKU - which has won 11 of its last 13 games - is ranked No. 2 in the latest NCAA II North Central Region poll. The Norse are seeking their first GLVC regular-season title since 1989.

If NKU wins the GLVC regular-season title, the Norse will be the No. 1 seed and host the GLVC Tournament May 9-12 at the Bill Aker Baseball Complex at Friendship Field.

Lenny Bays and Brandon Evans combined for a three-hit shutout Tuesday afternoon as NKU defeated Indianapolis, 2-0, at Greyhound Park.

Bays, who improved to 8-2 with the victory, recorded 10 strikeouts in seven innings on Tuesday. The Bellevue High School graduate also allowed just two hits and did not walk a batter.

NKU snapped a scoreless tie in the top of the seventh inning on an RBI double by Richie Jones. Chris Osterkamp then delivered an RBI single to give the Norse a 2-0 advantage, and Evans pitched two scoreless innings to notch the save.

Justin Rahschulte leads NKU in hitting with a .365 batting average. Rahschulte, who was named this week’s GLVC Player of the Week, has 15 doubles, six triples and seven home runs.

Jason Martin now has 253 career hits and needs just 11 to become NKU’s all-time career leader in that category. Gary Flowerdew is currently NKU’s all-time leader with 263 hits.


1. Ashland

2. NKU

3. Indianapolis

4. Grand Valley State

4. Saginaw Valley State


7. Lewis

8. Missouri-St. Louis

9. Quincy

10. Saint Joseph’s